• Fall 2013 Newsletter
EBMA - Correction to Fall 2013 Newsletter
October 2013
A quarterly newsletter to keep you informed.

About EBMA
The mission of the Educational Book and Media Association is to foster a unique community that brings together a wide range of wholesalers and publishers in order to address the ever changing book & media buying needs of the educational marketplace.

Correction to Newsletter: In the EBMA newsletter below, we misstated the award information. While Kristin Srnecz attended the annual meeting in 2010, she did not receive the Jean Srnecz Award, she received a plaque in honor of the establishment of the award in her mother's name. In 2011 Marilyn Abel was the first time recipient of the award, click here to see a copy of her award certificate.
Further, after Marilyn Abel's retirement, it was decided that the National Coalition Against Censorship will continue as the annual donation recipient of the Marilyn Abel Award.
EBMA 2014 Annual Meeting - Details Coming Soon
The 39th Annual Meeting of the Educational Book and Media Association will be held January 13-16, 2014 at the Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines in San Diego, California.
Registration for the annual meeting will open next week, watch your inbox for complete meeting details including registration fees, how to register, meeting agenda and the deadline schedule.
If you have questions regarding the meeting, please email meeting@edupaperback.org or call 540-318-7770.
Connect with EBMA on LinkedIn
Have you ever wished to connect with EBMA members virtually in one place? Now you can! EBMA has launched an official LinkedIn group page that is open only to current active members of the association.
The EBMA LinkedIn group page is a great place to ask questions, network with other members, to connect before, during and after the annual meeting and keep on top of industry news. We ask that you please respect the privacy of group members, and do not advertise your organization, or service offerings through this group.
If you are a current member of the association, join the group today!
New EBMA Members
Since the 2013 Annual Meeting, EBMA is pleased to announce that several member applications were received and approved by the board at our May and September Board Meetings. We are pleased to welcome the following publishing companies to EBMA:
  • Child's Play
  • Flowerpot Children's Press
  • Legato Publishers Group
  • Lonely Planet
  • Wm. B. Eerdmans Publishing Co.

If you have a wholesaler or publisher contact that you would like us to reach out to regarding membership in EBMA, please forward their information to Maureen Gelwicks at meeting@edupaperback.org.  

EBMA Awards
In addition to the annual Jeremiah Ludington Award, EBMA also has two others awards that are presented in honor of two individuals who made significant contributions to our industry.  
Jean Srnecz Award
In January of 2010, the board of the Educational Book and Media Association established the Jean Srnecz Award in honor of EPA past president (2006-2008) Jean Srnecz.
The award will honor on occasion a book industry professional who has contributed significantly, over their lifetime, to the educational book market and displayed the kind of creativity and dedication that was valued in Jean Srnecz.  Awardees will receive a plaque and an honorarium of $1000, which will be donated to the book-related charity of their choice.
The past recipient of the Jean Srnecz Award was Marilyn Abel, she received the award in January of 2010, click here to see a copy of her award certificate.
Kristen Srnecz received a plaque in honor of the establishment of the award in her mother's name at the 2010 annual meeting.
Marilyn Abel Award
In 2005 the Educational Paperback Association, now the Educational Book and Media Association, established the Marilyn Abel Award in honor of her long-term efforts and support in furthering the goals and growth of the organization.
Marilyn Abel served as Executive Secretary for 35 years and had been involved with the organization since its inception in 1975 until her passing in spring of 2013. Her experience at NAL and other publishing houses proved invaluable in her work at the EPA. EBMA has made an annual contribution in her name to the National Coalition Against Censorship since her retirement, which will continue in her memory.
Past recipients of the Marilyn Abel Award include:

Educational Book & Media Association is a 501(c)6 non-profit organization.

P.O. Box 3363, Warrenton, VA 20188
Ph. 540-318-7770


Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software